top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyana

FTP: Episode 3 is up with a famous guest!

Episode 3: "Troll Farms? with Craig Silverman"

 

The third episode of Faking the Presses (FTP) is up!! I had a very long and in-depth conversation with Craig Silverman, an award-winning journalist, an author, an expert on online disinformation, fake news and digital investigations, and a national reporter for ProPublica. So, our interview is split into two parts.


We talk about his investigation into the (alleged) "Russian troll farm" that spread anti-Ukraine propaganda. We covered who (he thinks) spread the fake news, why and how they did it, how they re-used visual elements (videos, pictures, memes) and put them into a different context, his advice for recognizing fake news, and his suggestions for (safely) bringing attention to it.


Craig was a great guest to speak to! He was very thorough, knowledgeable and informative about the story he investigated. He was also very kind about how nervous I was; I'm sure he noticed haha! His 2022 article on ProPublica is so well-written, researched and investigated and showed me that there is SO much work that goes into investigative and debunking journalism.


This is the very first FTP episode that I recorded... and you can definitely tell with my voice! I was very nervous to go "on air" for the very first time and to talk to someone so accomplished as Craig. In fact, for our lecture on fake news (in my communications class), we watched a news report with Craig in it! I also heard Blake's guest talk about technology and journalism in another journalism class this year. So, he's definitely a big name for me!


Look at the links below to find Craig and his work.


Links & Resources

Find Craig:

Find Kyana:

 



Comments


bottom of page