top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyana

FTP: The podcast's final guest!

I talk with ProPublica's Jeff Kao about his popular New York Times investigation.

 

In this episode of Faking the Presses, I talk to Jeff Kao, a computational journalist for ProPublica. Kyana and Jeff discuss his 2021 piece for ProPublica and the New York Times called "How China Spreads Its Propaganda Version of Life for Uyghurs." Note: My apologies if I pronounced "Xinjiang" incorrectly.


We talk about his and his team's investigation into Chinese propaganda. Jeff explained to me that he works more with technology and computers rather than traditional reporting. It was so interesting to hear how Jeff's team used technology to investigate and report on this story. They even created their own code!


I'm very thankful to have spoken to Jeff, he was great to talk to and even sent me a presentation on the story! Learning about the more technological and computational side of journalism was really interesting and opened my eyes to how many different opportunities and skills are needed in the industry. Thank you so much to Jeff for speaking with me!


Links & Resources

Find Jeff:

Find Kyana:

 







Comments


bottom of page