top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyana

FTP: The last episode is up!

The second part of my interview with Jeff Kao AND the last episode of Faking the Presses is published!

 

The last episode of Faking the Presses is up! This is the second part of my interview with ProPublica's Jeff Kao is up! To recap, Jeff is a computational journalist for ProPublica. We discuss his 2021 piece for ProPublica and the New York Times, "How China Spreads Its Propaganda Version of Life for Uyghurs." Note: My apologies if I pronounced "Xinjiang" incorrectly.


We talk about his and his team's investigation into Chinese propaganda. Jeff explained to me that he works more with technology and computers rather than traditional reporting. It was so interesting to hear how Jeff's team used technology to investigate and report on this story. They even created their own code!


As I said before, this is the last episode of Faking the Presses :( I had such a great time creating and working on this show. I learned so much about producing, podcasting, interviewing, journalism and fake news/disinformation. I'm so thankful to all my guests and to those who responded to my emails. It was very hard work, but I'm so happy and proud of how it all turned out. Another thank you to my professor, Dr. Zielinski, for not doubting my idea (even though my proposal was incomplete) and for giving the whole show a listen.


Thank you to the listeners and the lurkers who've followed this process and show; I really appreciate it! Hopefully, there will be more podcasts from me in the future :)


Links & Resources

Find Jeff:

Find Kyana:

 


Comments


bottom of page