top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyana

FTP: The latest episode with freelance journalist, Justin Ling, is up!

I was fortunate to get in touch with and talk to freelance journalist, Justin Ling!

 

In this episode of Faking the Presses, I talk to Justin Ling, a freelance investigative journalist, podcast host and author. We talk about his 2022 video report for CBC News: The National called "How the Ukraine Biolabs conspiracy theory went mainstream."


We talk about his coverage, analysis and timeline of how the Ukrainian Biolabs conspiracies went mainstream. We discussed how it came from QAnon and Twitter, its spread on social media and eventually onto mainstream news, why the "theory" was so convincing and popular, its damage to Ukraine and the U.S. (particularly during the war), what visual elements and research was used to "support" it, and how to avoid fake news.


I feel very lucky that I got the chance to speak with Justin. At this point in the creation/production process, I had sent SO many cold emails to journalists with interview requests and received little to no responses. Justin was kind enough to respond to my email and give me around 20 minutes of his time to talk about his video report and disinformation. So, a BIG thank you to Justin!


Links & Resources

Find Justin:

Find Kyana:

 

Comments


bottom of page