top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyana

I wrote my first-ever feature story!

Updated: Apr 28, 2023

I spent an entire semester (3 months) reporting, producing and writing a feature story that's published online!
Samantha Benezra, of Odella's Designs, showed me the range of products she designs during our interview in Toronto, Ont. on Thursday, Feb. 2, 2023. (Kyana Alvarez/T•)

Read it on the T• website!

 

In my latest semester of journalism school, we learned to write long-form feature articles. Instead of writing 400-600 word hard news articles or 1-minute video news reports as we have in past semesters, we had around 1, 200 words to sculpt a (journalistic) narrative. We also had to incorporate multimedia elements like audio, video, photographs, maps and interactive visuals. I incorporated an audio clip, pictures and a map.


Inspired by my school's Winter Market, I decided to talk to 3 student small business owners who started their companies during the pandemic and how they were coping with Canada's high inflation in 2022. I wanted to know how and why they started their businesses, how the pandemic affected them and how inflation affected them. The companies, Odella's Designs, Lashes by SXMO and Evie & Co., were kind enough to speak with me and share their stories and experiences, and I can say I've learned a lot about their crafts, running a business and about them. I also know how to spell "entrepreneur" properly now!


For my audio element of the story, I included an audio clip of the owner of Odella's Designs talking about her first sticker sale and custom sticker order from our interview. She was kind enough to meet with me at school between classes and bring examples of her products! I added extra (background) audio clips and elements to enhance the story.


For my photo elements, I created a short and simple photo essay of how the owner of Lashes by SXMO prepares for a lash extension appointment. I visited her Toronto apartment and studio, and she showed me around while taking me through her process. She showed me all her tools and eyelash extension options and explained the science behind applying them. I included some supplied pictures of Evie & Co.'s products from her Instagram page, as we couldn't meet in person to talk and see her products. I also included a picture of the owner of Odella's Designs with her two friends who came to our interview and surprised her by wearing some of her designs (so sweet!).


For the mapping element, I created a Google map of the two storefronts where Evie & Co. products are sold. It was my first time making a Google map, and was much easier than I expected.


Although I found it hard to start writing the story, it all just flowed out of me after I got the first couple of paragraphs down. I had so much fun writing in a more narrative style and having room for more creativity and imagery. I tend to write more than I need to, so I liked that I had more space to include what I imagined. I liked being able to include unique and fun details about the people I interviewed and think they added a lot more colour to the story. I also enjoyed the reporting process a bit more; I had a few adventures meeting with the entrepreneurs and just had fun talking with them and seeing their world.


However, I think three months is a bit too long to work on one story because a) I waited a bit too long to start my interviews and had to schedule interview after interview before the first draft deadline, and b) I think working on one thing with the same topic, characters and information for three whole months was pretty tiring and draining. By the end of the semester, I was impatient to get the story published and stop talking about the same things.


I would like to give the student business owners my wholehearted thanks for their openness, enthusiasm, trust and honesty; I'm very grateful and lucky that they helped make this experience as smooth as possible and trusted me to tell their stories. I'd like to thank the Toronto Metropolitan University business experts who spoke to me and even gave me tips on how to start a business. Thanks to my friends who supported me (and each other) throughout this new (and sometimes stressful) venture. Last but not least, I want to give a HUGE thank you to my instructor and editor, Jill, for answering allll my emails with endless questions, getting back to me and giving advice when things went awry, and for editing my endless stream of different drafts before publication. Thank you, Jill!


I've worked so hard to tell the student entrepreneurs' stories authentically and faithfully, and I hope they appreciate it and like the feature. I'm so proud and happy with the work I've done, and I hope you enjoy it as well!


Comments


bottom of page