top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyana

My Story & Interview Process

Updated: Apr 23, 2023

Getting into journalism and interviewing can be daunting; here's the process I've learned/created while in journalism school!

Back when I started the journalism program at Toronto Metropolitan University, just thinking about the story/article projects and assignments made me feel overwhelmed and nervous. I had absolutely NO experience with or in journalism, so I felt very lost in where to start and how to get through the projects. Luckily, I had many opportunities to figure out and fine-tune my story and interview process; however, it is an ever-changing process that I tweak and change with every interview.


So, for those who are just starting in journalism programs or if you want to get into journalism/interviewing on your own, here's my story and interview process!


Coming up with a story

When I know I have a story assignment coming up, I start thinking about story ideas as soon as possible. As someone who's not too keen on writing articles, I begin to come up with story ideas early and bounce them off of my friends in the program and my family. I pick stories that I'm interested in (they usually have to do with students thus far) with sources I know I have access to. If it's a news story, I also try to find a timely aspect to it. I also think of research I can use and multimedia elements I'll need (like photos and videos).


Then, after making it into a pitch for my instructor/editor, I'll start reaching out to my sources. I preferably like to get in touch using email, but if my sleuthing skills can't find one, I'll message them privately on social media. Of course, every message differs depending on the story and on who the source is, but my messages usually look as follows:

  • Greeting - "Hello [name], I hope you're well..."

  • Introduction - "My name is Kyana and I'm a journalism student at Toronto Metropolitan University."

  • Story idea - "I'm working on a story/assignment about..."

  • Where the story will end up - "This story is for a project, but it will be published online..."

  • How I found them (sometimes) - "I saw you on [website], I read your story on [blank], etc."

  • Interview request - " I was wondering if you'd be willing to talk with me about [story topic] for my assignment (in person, over video chat, etc.)"

  • Thank you and goodbye - "Please let me know. Thank you, and stay well, Kyana..."

I send a lot of these emails because many times I don't get a response or the source isn't available for an interview - which is totally ok! Don't let the no's get you down! It can be disappointing when someone isn't able to talk with you but remember, they don't owe you an interview; you're the one asking them for something. Just be polite and understanding. I've found that when sources aren't available for interviews, they're very nice, polite and apologetic about it.


Even before I get responses from sources, I start writing my questions for each (type of) source. I'm very much a planner/preparer, so of course I'll have my questions prepared in advance. I still leave room for follow-ups and improv questions during the actual interview, though. Staying too rigid or sticking strictly to a script can ruin an interview. There needs to be balance and flexibility in staying on track and exploring different avenues that come up. I find that having my questions beforehand helps guide me through the interview and doesn't leave me frozen with nerves during the discussion! Questions differ for every interview, but here are some standard questions I always make sure to ask:

At the beginning of the interview:
  • Name pronouncer

  • Their contact information (email and phone number)

  • How they would title themself

  • Their experience with (topic)

At the end of the interview:
  • If they have anything to add

  • If/where I can message them for follow-ups

I also collect research and other "paper" sources that I can use in the story.


The interview

Whether the interview is online or in person, I always make a point to show up early and stay in contact with the source (telling them that I've arrived). I take out my notebook, pens, questions and recorder. If it's a video story, then I'll set up my camera and microphone.


Before I start asking questions, I thank the source for talking with me and try to make some small talk to ease both the source and myself (I still get nervous too, haha!). I also remind them if/where the story will be published and ask if I can record the interview to quote them correctly (if it's a written story).


Then, I officially start the interview! Usually, I try to have 10-15 minute interviews (at the quickest). Sometimes interviews can get up to an hour. It really depends on the story and the type of source.


After the interview, I thank the source again for talking with me, offer to send them the story when it's done and get the multimedia content (pictures and videos).


Finis!

After all my interviews, I go and write the story! I prefer to write the first draft as soon as possible and as completely as possible. At that point, I'm fresh from the interview and in the "journo zone," as I like to think of it. I'm the type who starts writing and can't stop until it's done! It also leaves as much time as possible before my deadline for editing. I try to read over it at least once every day (until it's due) and will send it to a friend in my program for their opinion. Afterwards, I submit it and go back and forth with my instructor/editor for their edits and suggestions.

Then, voila! A finished story!

Comments


bottom of page